Students Recognized in Fall Honors Ceremony

Northwest State Community College recently honored students achieving academic excellence during its Fall Honors Ceremony, held on December 6, 2019. Phi Theta Kappa, Alpha Delta Nu and Award of Merit students were recognized during the one-hour ceremony, held in the Voinovich Auditorium on the College’s Archbold campus.


Following a welcome by NSCC Executive Vice President Todd Hernandez, the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) induction was emceed by Amy Drees, NSCC Arts & Sciences faculty. Fifteen students were inducted into the PTK International Honor Society. To be eligible for induction, students must have a minimum 3.5 grade point average after completing at least eighteen credit hours of college coursework.

PTK inductees included Rebecca Abell, Amanda Crompton, Christopher Ferguson, Matthew McKown, Lucia Myers, Steven Sabins, Eric Shininger, Elliot Wannemacher, Jillian Clapp, Deon Daughtery, Jenna Keesecker, Jennifer Menz, Nathaniel Rodriguez, Jacqueline Sager and Cora Vanslyke.

Phi Theta Kappa was established in 1918 to encourage academic achievement for two-year college students. Its mission is to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members.


The next group honored at the ceremony was the thirteen new inductees into the Alpha Delta Chapter of the Alpha Delta Nu (ADN) Nursing Honor Society. In order to qualify, students must maintain a minimum 3.0 grade point average, with at least a B in all nursing classes. ADN inductees included Melissa Bowling, Maelynn Growden, Katalina Kelley, Alicia Luke, Hanah Meter, Haley Pierce, Kimberly Clingaman, Kimberly Holmes, Brittany Ludemann, Shaylee Manahan, Kelsea McNeil, Ashley Patton and Morgan Rice.


The College also recognized eleven Award of Merit recipients. For over 25 years, Northwest State has recognized graduates within the degree programs for their academic achievements. Award of Merit recipients are chosen by faculty from the respective divisions based on leadership involvement, special talents or abilities in their academic field, and significant contributions to Northwest State. Recipients included Keetyn Ayers and Jacqueline Sager (Business & Public Services Division); Maxie Ratanasri, Rachelle Wyse, Caleb Davila, Kassidy Swanson and Seth Brakefield (Arts & Sciences Division); Melissa Bowling and Kimberly Clingaman (Nursing and Allied Health Division); and Kyle Nicely and Scott Zimmer (STEM Division).