Students Inducted into PTK & KBD Honor Societies

Northwest State Community College recently recognized thirty-five students during an induction ceremony for the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society. To be eligible for induction, students must have a minimum 3.5 grade point average after completing at least eighteen credit hours of college coursework. During the evening’s festivities, four students were also inducted into the Kappa Beta Delta International Honor Society, recognizing “scholarship and accomplishment among students of business pursuing associate degrees.” (

Phi Theta Kappa was established in 1918 to encourage academic achievement for two-year college students. Its mission is to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members.

Kappa Beta Delta was established in 1997 as a specialty honor society for two-year college students in business programs. Its purpose is to recognize student scholarship and accomplishments, as well as encourage personal and professional improvement and service to others.

Phi Theta Kappa

The following students were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa:

Allen (OH) County: Sarah Horner (Lima)

Defiance County: Jenna Bishop (Defiance), Summer Carr (Hicksville), Eric Engel (Defiance), Lisa Grubb (Defiance), Rachel Johns (Hicksville), Israel Laguna (Defiance), Clayton Stemen (Defiance), Ashley Switzer (Defiance), Alexis Weidenhamer (Defiance)

Fulton County: Alicia Barhite (Archbold), Todd Dixon (Swanton), Taylor Griffiths (Fayette), Elijah Norr (Wauseon)

Henry County: Kimberly Eggebrecht (Napoleon), Laurie Hockenberry (Napoleon), Donald Pinckney (Grelton), Teena Pinckney (Grelton), Devyn Stouffer (Napoleon), Kassidy Swanson (Napoleon)

Paulding County: Katherine Murphy (Cecil)

Sandusky County: Tina Davies (Gibsonburg)

Williams County: Robert Baker (Montpelier), Amy Chappuis (Stryker), Brittany Keller (West Unity), Joshua Landel (Edon), Shaylee Manahan (Edon), Lyle Manges (Edon), Michelle Miller (Bryan), Lindsey Roehrig (Stryker), Michael Shadbolt (Bryan), Daniel Stuckey (Montpelier), Chasity Yoder (Bryan), Arielle Young (Montpelier)

Wood County: Brandon Allen (Bowling Green)

Kappa Beta Delta

The following students were inducted into Kappa Beta Delta:
Sydney Critten (Paulding), Patricia Gunter (Napoleon), Keetyn Hayes (Bryan), Daniel Stuckey (Montpelier)