NSCC President Announces Retirement in 2018

The Northwest State Community College Board of Trustees met in regular session on April 28 where President Thomas L. Stuckey formally announced his intent to retire by June 30, 2018.

During the meeting, Paul Siebenmorgen, chairperson for the NSCC Board of Trustees, thanked Dr. Stuckey for his continued leadership as the board launches a presidential search in hopes of having a new president named by spring 2018. Board members John Bridenbaugh, Sue Derck and Dr. Robert Hall will serve on the search committee that includes faculty, staff and administrative representation from the College. Dr. Stuckey has served Northwest State in various capacities for 31 years.

The board approved giving the president authority to increase tuition for 2017-18 to the rate allowable by the state of Ohio, should the current tuition freeze be eliminated. Ohio public colleges and universities have been operating under a four-year tuition freeze implemented by Governor Kasich. Also, the board discussed the pending renovations for the machine shop and welding lab that will support the maintenance and integrity of training equipment. An authorization to award a contract for an architect utilizing funding provided through the state of Ohio capital budget was approved.

In other board action:

  • Approved employment contracts for: Roger Spears, cyber-security training coordinator and Shannon Floyd, assistant-senior registrar
  • Approved transfer of Andrea Morrow to secretary-community and workforce development and Laurie Storrer to secretary-ISTAR grants and industrial divisions
  • Approved the retirement and rehire of Timothy Nelson, director of plant operations, construction & renovation
  • Approved the retirements of Lora Bird, dean of nursing; Mary Kruse, division secretary allied health and public services; and John Ordway, technician-maintenance
  • Approved various resignations and part-time employment contracts
  • Approved the March 31, 2017, financial report