NSCC Board of Trustees Holds Officer Elections

The Northwest State Community College Board of Trustees met in regular session on Friday, February 23. As part of the meeting, the Board elected new leaders for one-year terms. The new Board leadership will include Jeffrey Erb, chair; Laura Howell, vice chair; and Joel Miller, second vice chair. Erb replaces Paul Siebenmorgen as chair. In his closing remarks, Siebenmorgen thanked the Board for their efforts, noting they have been, “all united looking at the best interests of the College.”

CTS Board of Trustees Meeting

Pictured L to R: Todd Hernandez, NSCC VP for innovation; Dave Conover, director-CTS Toledo; Cheryl Geer, administrative support-CTS Toledo; and Tami Norris, training coordinator-CTS Toledo. Information on on-site and off-site education and training programs available at the Scott Park location is available at trainwithcts.com.

The Board also heard a presentation from team members of the Advanced Manufacturing Training Center (AMTC), located at the Scott Park facility at the University of Toledo. Todd Hernandez, vice president for innovation at Northwest State, introduced team members Dave Conover, Cheryl Geer and Tami Norris. Hernandez and the AMTC team highlighted some of the projects they have worked on for the College, including recently hosting Congressional representatives Marcy Kaptur (OH), Steny Hoyer (MD) and Nanette Diaz Barragan (CA) for a “Make It In America Listening Tour” and a major training collaboration with Fiat Chrysler employees, with the support of the University of Toledo. The AMTC provides classroom and lab education and training opportunities at the Scott Park location, as well as custom training solutions to suit business’ needs. More information on available programs can be found at trainwithcts.com.

In other Board action:

  • Approved the amended role and responsibilities of Dr. Tom Stuckey, who will become the special assistant to the president, Dr. Michael Thomson, effective April 1- June 30, 2018
  • Approved 2017-2018 revised budget
  • Approved miscellaneous employment contracts, transfers and resignations
  • Approved the academic calendars for 2020-2021 through 2027-2028
  • Approved duplicate program report for Ohio Department of Higher Education
  • Appointed Sue Derck as OACC delegate from the NSCC Board of Trustees, with John Bridenbaugh appointed as alternate