Fifty Students Inducted into PTK & KBD Honor Societies

Kappa Beta Delta International Honor Society recently announced that Francisca Franklin of Northwest State Community College was awarded the 2016 Dr. Andrew V. Stevenson Merit Scholarship. She is one of only fifteen recipients worldwide to earn this honor. Franklin was named at a ceremony held at NSCC that also recognized fifty students being inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the Kappa Beta Delta National Honor Society. Dr. Richanne Mankey, president of Defiance College, was the featured speaker at the ceremony.

Franklin received an office assistant certificate from NSCC in 2014 while working a part-time job and being a full-time wife and mother of two daughters. She is currently pursuing a second degree in human resources management and has been named to the NSCC Dean’s List each semester.

“Not having my degree completed put me a little behind in my goals,” stated Franklin.  “I know we all have ups and downs through life and we are given many challenges, but I have learned that no one can stop me from reaching my goals.”

Phi Theta Kappa was established in 1918 to encourage academic achievement for two-year college students. Its mission is to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members.

Kappa Beta Delta was established in 1997 as a specialty honor society for two-year college students in business programs. Its purpose is to recognize student scholarship and accomplishments, as well as encourage personal and professional improvement and service to others.

The following students were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa. Those students marked with (*) were inducted into both Phi Theta Kappa and Kappa Beta Delta. Students marked with (+) are Kappa Beta Delta only.

Defiance: Ricky Caryer (Defiance), Tammy Caryer (Defiance), Deborah Imm (Defiance), Amanda Niese (Defiance),  Lisa Wright (Defiance), Larry Hussey (Farmer),  Jill Garza (Hicksville), Chistopher Wonderly* (Hicksville), Rose Mansel-Pleydell (Ney), Haley Robbins (Ney)

Fulton: Matthew Sevey (Archbold), Josh Storrer (Archbold), Butch Blankenship (Archbold), Ashley Fry (Delta), Amy Shaffer (Fayette), Sierra Harris (Fayette),  Crystal Purdy (Swanton), Danielle Coll (Wauseon), Katherine Miller (Wauseon), Steven Pope (Wauseon), Krista Thierry (Wauseon), Bree Youse (Wauseon)

Henry:  Tyler Moore (Holgate), Madison Sidle (Holgate), Maria Trevino (McClure),  Angel Dietrich (Napoleon), Adaleigh Faulhaber* (Napoleon), Paige Gerken (Napoleon), Andrea Hoying (Napoleon), Logan Petersen* (Napoleon), Emaline Westrick (New Bavaria)

Paulding: Robert Caperton* (Cecil) Mackenzie Haney (Paulding)

Williams: Aerika Blankenship (Bryan), Nicole M. Bowers* (Alvordton), Josh Clark (Bryan), Heidi Hemenway* (Bryan), Karlin Munger (Edon), Jordan Spackman (Edon), Christina Adkins (Montpelier), Kyli McCullough (Monpelier), Troy Metz (Montpelier),  Naomi Diaz (Stryker),  Olivia Fish (West  Unity), Christina Triplett*(Montpelier)

Lucas:  Adam Welch (Oregon), Mindy Frische (Whitehouse)

Putnam: Michelle Roeder (Fort Jennings)

Wood: Andrea Swick (Tontogany)