Board of Trustees Elects Officers

The Northwest State Community College Board of Trustees met in regular session on Friday, February 28 on the Archbold campus. After roll call, the Board met the business office team and shared their appreciation for the hard work the business office does to serve the students, the College and the community.

From L to R: Scott Mull, second vice chair; Joel Miller, chair; NSCC President Dr. Michael Thomson; and Lisa McClure, vice chair.

As one of the final pieces of the meeting, the Board held its annual election for the positions of chair, vice chair and second vice chair. Joel Miller of Napoleon was elected to assume the duties as chair, replacing Laura Howell. Lisa McClure ascended to vice chair, and Scott Mull became the second vice chair. All officers will serve in these positions for the period of February 2020 through February 2021. Former Chair Laura Howell nominated Miller to serve the College in this capacity. NSCC President Dr. Michael Thomson congratulated Howell for her service as outgoing chair, and Joel Miller presented her with a plaque and noted the long hours, hard work and dedication Howell showed in the role.   

In other Board action:

  • Approved the promotions of Lana Snider to vice president-enrollment management & student Affairs, Dr. Dan Burklo to vice president-academics, and Brittany Galbraith to advisor-academic
  • Approved the employment of James Boone, industrial technologies faculty
  • Approved the transfer of Sarah Stubblefield to grants management coordinator
  • Approved the 2020-2021 student fees
  • Approved the 2019-2020 revised budget
  • Approved the 2020-2021 academic year tuition via approval by Governor DeWine, which will begin with the summer 2020 semester. In-state tuition will now be $177.33 per credit hour (up from $172.33), and the additional fee for out-of-state students will now be $171.33 per credit hour (up from $166.33).
  • Selected John Bridenbaugh to serve as a delegate from the Board of Trustees to serve on the Governing Board of the Ohio Association of Community Colleges and selected Sue Derck to serve as the alternate representative
  • Approved miscellaneous employment contracts, four resignations and one resignation for retirement