2017 Fall Commencement Ceremony

Northwest State Community College celebrated the fall 2017 graduating class at its commencement ceremony on December 18, held in the Voinovich Auditorium. The ceremony recognized the awarding of 166 degrees and/or certificates to 158 students from the divisions of Allied Health, Business & Public Services; Arts & Sciences; Industrial Technologies; Nursing; and Science, Technology, Engineering Technology & Math (STEM). This represents the largest fall graduating class in the College’s history.

Dr. Cindy Krueger, NSCC vice president for institutional effectiveness & student services, kicked off the ceremony with a note of celebration. “Tonight, we are celebrating the achievements of our graduates. We, your family, friends and the College community, have gathered to celebrate with you,” Krueger said.

Renee Limbacher of New Bavaria was the student speaker. She received an Associate of Applied Science in Medical Assisting and graduated Summa Cum Laude. During her speech, Limbacher offered her thanks for her support system–family, friends and NSCC students, faculty and staff–by noting, “Your support has enabled us to face the trials we have encountered on this journey to success, and we have all had trials.”

Limbacher encouraged graduates to continue to move forward. “Now it’s time to see what you can do. Test your limits, break through the barriers trying to hold you back, reach for the sky. Follow your heart, and never stop climbing,” she said.

The keynote speaker for this year’s commencement ceremony was the Honorable Denise Herman McColley, Common Pleas Judge of the Domestic Relations/Juvenile Divisions with the Henry County Family Court. McColley encouraged graduates to continue to reach for their highest ideals, saying, “There’s always something we can do to better ourselves, always an option to continue learning, always a way to assist others. I truly believe that we should continue to reach for those higher ideals that better self, and the degree or certificate you are receiving today is another step on your journey to reach your ideals.”

McColley concluded her remarks by reflecting on the importance of “paying it forward” and helping others in any way possible, then led the graduates in a standing ovation of thanks for those who helped them each achieve their education goals.

During the ceremony, twelve students were recognized as Award of Merit recipients.  Award of Merit recipients are chosen by faculty from the respective divisions based on leadership involvement, special talents or abilities in their academic field, and significant contributions to Northwest State.

Award of Merit recipients included:

Allied Health, Business & Public Services
Emily Branham, Office Administrative Services
Josh Carmody, Business Management
Kasara Kovar, Criminal Justice
Jennifer Majchrowski, Medical Assisting

Arts & Sciences
Dustan Bradley, Associate of Arts

Industrial Technologies
Timothey Yocklin, Maintenance Technology-Mechatronics

Devyn Stouffer, Registered Nursing

Science, Technology, Engineering Technology & Math
Levi Brumbaugh, Mechanical Engineering Technologies
Trevor Kepler, CAD/CAM
Tyson Spangler, Mechanical Engineering Technologies
Rob Weisenburger, Electrical Engineering Technologies
Alex Yoder, Network Administration