2015 Distinguished Alumni Award Winners

Northwest State Community College is pleased to announce Wendy Munk of Prescott, Arizona; Niki Mosier of Edgerton, Ohio; Jason Sprow of Defiance, Ohio; and Patricia Frank of Holgate, Ohio, as recipients of the 2015 Distinguished Alumni Award. The award winners will be recognized during a special luncheon prior to the 2015 Commencement Ceremony on May 9.

“This award is the highest honor given by the NSCC Alumni Association,” said Robbin Wilcox, director of development at NSCC. “Each year we have the honor of learning about the amazing work being done by our alumni. Each of this year’s recipients has been actively involved in their profession and pursued further education in order to expand their careers. Our honored alumni have also been active members of their communities.”

Munk graduated from NSCC in 1991, Summa Cum Laude, earning an Associate of Applied Business in Office Services. She went on to earn a Bachelor of Arts in English from the University of Washington. A published author, Munk has written nine novels, three short stories and has earned three national awards for her novels. She is recognized as a “Top 100 Bestseller” with both Amazon and Barnes & Noble ebook stores. As a co-developer of the publishing company, Corvallis Press, she has helped to publish other authors in various genres. Munk also volunteers at local elementary schools, is vice president of the Greater Seattle Chapter of Romance Writers of America, and presents numerous workshops on marketing and writing.

Mosier graduated from NSCC in 1997 with an Associate of Applied Business in Business Management. She continued her education, receiving both a bachelor’s and master’s degree in human resources from Defiance College. Mosier is also a certified Senior Professional in Human Resources. As the director of human capital for Spangler Candy Company in Bryan, Mosier serves as a board member for the Employer’s Association of Toledo and as chairperson for the Northwest Ohio Human Resource Association. Mosier is the first female to be named to the Spangler Candy Management Committee.

Sprow graduated from NSCC in 1999 with an associate degree in nursing. He continued his education to earn a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Bowling Green State University and a master’s in nursing from the University of Akron. He is a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist and provides services to patients at Fulton County Health Center as the co-owner of Northern Anesthesia Providers. Sprow is active in his community, serving as a mentor for the Defiance County Medical Reserves and the Fraternal Order of Eagles.

Frank graduated from NSCC in 2000 with an associate degree in nursing and is pursuing a doctorate at Walden University in Minneapolis, Minnesota. She currently serves as the chief nursing officer for Henry County Hospital. Frank is an active member of the NSCC Healthcare Advisory Board, Defiance College Nursing Advisory Board, Ohio Organization of Nurse Executives and the Ohio Lean Consortium Steering Committee. She is active in her community, and is currently the president of St. Mary’s Parish Council in Holgate.

Developed in 1998, the Distinguished Alumni Award honors graduates of Northwest State Community College who have achieved recognized prominence in their career, made significant contributions to their profession and community, and impacted the lives of others. In addition to the luncheon, recipients will be commemorated on NSCC’s campus with a plaque and photo.