Fall 2016 Dean’s List

Congratulations to all of the students who made the fall 2016 Dean’s List. To be eligible, students must have taken at least 12 credit hours for full-time or 6-11.99 for part-time and have averaged above a 3.5 GPA on a 4.0 scale.

Fall Commencement Ceremony Awards 113 Degrees & Certificates

Northwest State Community College celebrated the 2017 graduating class at the fall Commencement Ceremony on December 19. The ceremony recognized 113 degree and/or certificate recipients from the divisions of Allied Health & Public Services; Arts & Sciences; Business Technologies; Nursing; and Math, Science & Engineering Technologies. Sixty-six students participated in the ceremony.

Dr. Cindy Krueger, NSCC vice president for academic and student services, encouraged graduates on their journey ahead. “You have completed an important task–your college degree. You are now ready for the next chapter in your life,” Krueger said. “As you go forth, hold your head high, for you are on the path to success.” Krueger concluded her speech with a congratulations to the graduating class, thanking them for “allowing Northwest State to be (their) educational partner.”

Katherine Wolfe of Defiance was the student speaker. She received an Associate of Applied Science in Nursing and graduated Summa Cum Laude, with memberships in Phi Theta Kappa and Alpha Delta Nu honor societies. During her speech, Wolfe mentioned that her registered nursing degree “represents a mid-life career change…one that (she) never expected,” a circumstance also shared by other fall graduates. Wolfe continued, “You are only as happy as you make up your mind you’re going to be. It’s less about possessions and fully about attitude. Count your blessings and be happy.”

The keynote speaker for this year’s commencement ceremony was James Hoops, associate vice president for strategic initiatives at Northwest State. Hoops, a former Henry County auditor and Ohio state representative, mixed personal stories of triumph and tragedy with words of encouragement.

“Life is uncertain and changing, life is going to be a challenge,” Hoops said. He also encouraged the graduates to stay connected. “You will become part of a large family of Northwest State Community College as an alumni. Please come back and visit, let us know how you’re doing. Also let us know what we can do better to help the surrounding communities.”

During the ceremony, fifteen students were recognized as Award of Merit recipients. Award of Merit recipients are chosen by faculty from the respective divisions based on leadership involvement, special talents or abilities in their academic field, and significant contributions to Northwest State.

Award of Merit recipients included:

Allied Health & Public Services
Rebecca Meyer, Medical Assisting
Ashley Malone, Medical Support
Kim Rosales, Human Services
Susan Benson, Paraprofessional Education
Mariah Slayback, Criminal Justice

Arts & Sciences
Ariel Krouse, Associate of Arts

Business Technologies
Bree Rolon, Accounting
Francisca Franklin, Human Resource Management
Arika Nuest, Visual Communications – Graphic Design

Engineering Technologies
Rebekah Both, Electrical Engineering Technology
Logan Brooker, Mechanical Engineering Technology

Industrial Technologies
Shane Hancock, Machining
Zebulun Lillard, Maintenance Technology – Mechatronics

Haley Robbins, Practical Nursing
Katherine Wolfe, Registered Nursing

Sixteen Complete Practical Nursing Program at NSCC

Sixteen students from Northwest State Community College’s practical nursing program celebrated completion of the program recently during a special Graduate Tea ceremony. Graduates are eligible to take the National Council Licensure Exam for Practical Nursing and upon successful completion, enter directly into the workforce. After obtaining work experience, they may continue their education and pursue a degree in registered nursing.

PN GraduatesThe following graduates were recognized during the ceremony:

Defiance County: Olivia Hussey (Defiance), Aubrey Kemerer (Hicksville), Angela Larry (Hicksville), Ashley Lawrence (Defiance), Haley Robbins (Ney), Michelle Yoder (Hicksville)
Fulton County: Tiffany Solly (Wauseon)
Lucas County: Ashtin Henderson (Toledo)
Paulding County: Lauren Speice (Latty)
Steuben (IN) County: Whitney Hubbell (Angola)
Williams County: Angel Adams (Bryan), Ashlee Bockover (Edon), Kaitlyn Kimball (Bryan), Cassandra Lawson (Bryan), Courtnee Rockey (Edon), Kelsea Stein (Montpelier)

Four Students Inducted Into Alpha Delta Nu Nursing Honor Society

Northwest State Community College recently recognized four students during the induction ceremony for the Alpha Delta Chapter of the Alpha Delta Nu Nursing Honor Society. In order to qualify, students must maintain a minimum 3.0 grade point average, with at least a B in all nursing classes.

Alpha Delta Nu Nursing Honor Society aims to recognize the academic excellence of associate degree nursing students and encourage students to pursue advanced nursing degrees.

Nursing Honor SocietyThe following students were inducted in Alpha Delta Nu:

Defiance County: Katherine Wolfe (Defiance)
Fulton County: Crystal Purdy (Swanton)
Lucas County: Mindy Frische (Whitehouse)
Williams County: Ashton Stalter (Bryan)

NSCC Student Simultaneously Earns Certificate & Adult Diploma

Congratulations to Troy Chmielewski, who simultaneously received his truck driving certificate and adult diploma. Sharing this accomplishment with his family, Troy (center) is pictured receiving his diploma from Tom Pierce, transportation and logistics coordinator (left), and Dr. Tom Stuckey, NSCC president (right).

Troy Diploma


Associate Degree Nursing Graduates Recognized

Thirteen students completing Northwest State Community College’s associate degree nursing program were recently recognized during a special ceremony. Graduates are eligible to take the National Council Licensure Exam for registered nurses and enter directly into the workforce, or they may transfer their credits into a bachelor’s degree program.


The following graduates were recognized during the ceremony:

Defiance County: Marlene Bradley (Defiance), Abigail Polce (Defiance), Katherine Wolfe (Defiance), Rikki Wright (Defiance)
Fulton County: Julia Bennett (Delta), Crystal Purdy (Swanton), Adam Steider (Archbold)
Henry County: Nathan Hoffer (Hamler), Tierney Keller (Napoleon)
Lucas County: Mindy Frische (Whitehouse)
Williams County: Melissa Grieser (West Unity), Taneisha Kaiser (Edon), Ashton Stalter (Bryan)