Summer Open House

Opportunities are waiting for you at Northwest State! Mark your calendar to attend the Summer Open House on Wednesday, July 9 from 2-4 p.m. You can learn more about:

  • Degree and certificate programs
  • Financial aid and scholarships
  • Student support services
  • How to get started

While you’re on campus, fill out a FREE application, take a tour and find out how Northwest State offers everything you need to succeed.

Summer STEM Camps

Come join the fun at Northwest State this summer! We have two opportunities for kids to learn new ideas, solve problems and explore the fields of science, technology, engineering and math.

Summer STEM Camps are available July 21-24 (students who completed grades 5-6) and July 28-31 (students who completed grades 7-8). Check out the flyer for more information on what the camps include and how to register.

Editor’s Note: Registration for the 2014 Summer STEM Camps has been closed. Both camps are full, but if you would like to place your child’s name on the waiting list, please contact Mari Yoder at 419.267.1268 or

Miami University 2+2 Program

Did you know that you can earn a bachelor’s degree in electro-mechanical engineering from Miami University without leaving Northwest State? Stop by E100 on Thursday, April 24 at 4:15 p.m. to learn more. Greg Gibbs from Miami University will be on campus to share information about the 2+2 program and answer questions from new and returning students.

Meet the Author

Community members, students, faculty and staff are invited to a book discussion on Monday, April 14 at 3 p.m. in C200. Join us as Edward Sternisha discusses his book “Pot Pie Ashtrays: Breaking the Cycle of Child Abuse.”

PotPieAshtray (1)Sternisha, now a criminal defense lawyer in Grand Rapids, Michigan, grew up in an abusive family. His book tells the true story of years of sexual and physical abuse, while aiming to bring a voice to victims.

Several copies of the book are available for short-term loan from the NSCC Library. Signed books can also be purchased after the presentation. All proceeds from book sales are donated to programs working to end child abuse.

This event is free and open to the public.


Spring Health Fair

Do you need to build a plan for a healthy lifestyle? Are you interested in finding new ideas to refresh your current health and wellness plan? NSCC’s nursing students can help!

Visit the Health Fair in the Atrium from 9:30 a.m.-12:45 p.m. on Thursday, April 10. The event will feature:

  • Blood pressure screenings
  • Derma scanner screenings to help identify skin cancer risks
  • Representatives from the Reproductive Health Clinic
  • Information on various health and wellness topics

The Health Fair is free and open to the public. We hope to see you there!

2014 Job Fair

The 2014 Job Fair will take place on Tuesday, April 8 from 10:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. in the NSCC Atrium. This event is free, open to the public and held in partnership with Clear Channel Communications and Ohio Means Jobs.

Nearly 50 employers are expected to attend, representing industries from automotive to healthcare. This is a great opportunity to network with local employers and learn more about current openings.

Job Seekers: Attendees are encourage to dress professionally and bring several copies of their resume. Do you need help preparing your resume? Check out these resume writing resources.

Employers: Is your company or organization hiring? Sign up for a free display at the Job Fair.

Arts & Sciences Event

Are you interested in taking a course that focuses on cultural experiences? Is creative expression important to you? Check out what the Arts & Sciences Division has to offer. Stop by the display in the Atrium March 24-27 from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. You’ll have an opportunity to meet instructors, learn more about the courses offered through the division and find out how you can use your education for fun and profit.